Nevada Public Adjuster Requirements and Regulations

29
Nevada Public Adjuster Requirements and Regulations

Public adjusters serve a critical ally to policyholders throughout the claim adjustment process. In Nevada, public adjusters are regulated under the provisions of chapter 684A of the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and chapter 684A of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC).1 The Nevada Division of Insurance outlines what is required of public adjusters in the Silver State.

In Nevada, individuals and business entities may obtain a public adjuster license, however a licensee may only hold one type of adjuster license within the state. Nonresidents of Nevada whose states do not issue this license type may designate another state as their home state and comply with that state’s requirements.

One must obtain a public adjuster license in Nevada if the individual solely represents the financial interests of the policyholder and does not investigate, negotiate or settle workers compensation claims.

To qualify as a public adjuster in the state of Nevada, an individual must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years of age and a resident of Nevada.
  • Be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good reputation.
  • Never been convicted of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, or conspiracy to commit fraud.
  • Never have committed an act that would be cause for denial of a license under Nevada law.
  • Complete the requisite pre-licensing education.
  • Pass the examination for the license and lines of authority requested.
  • Have taken and submitted fingerprints as part of a criminal background check.
  • Not be licensed in Nevada as a producer with the lines of authority of property, casualty, surety or as a Surplus Lines Broker.

Nonresidents of Nevada must in good standing with their home state and comply with all requirements as though they were a resident. In addition to the above requirements, a public adjuster in Nevada must complete 24 hours of continuing education per licensing term, three of which must include ethics.

Nevada public adjusters are required to keep a record of transactions under their license including:

  • A copy of all records of investigations and adjustments for three years from the date the claim is closed, or as required by the insurer.
  • A copy of each contract between the adjuster and the insurer.
  • A statement of any fee, commission or other compensation for each investigation or adjustment.

Finally, public adjusters in Nevada must adhere to the Adjuster Code of Ethics, requiring public adjusters:

  • Be honest and fair in all communications with the insured, the insurer, and the public.
  • Provide policyholders prompt, knowledgeable service, and courteous, fair and objective treatment at all times.
  • Refrain from providing legal advice and not deal directly with policyholders represented by legal counsel without first obtaining consent from the legal counsel.
  • Comply with all local, state, and federal privacy and information security laws, when applicable.
  • Identify themselves as an adjuster, and if applicable, identify their employer when dealing with a policyholder.
  • Refrain from having any financial interest in any adjustment or acquire any person of interest or title salvage without first receiving written authority from the principal.

For additional information on public adjusting requirements in Nevada, visit the Nevada Division of Insurance website.
______________________________________
1 https://doi.nv.gov/Licensing/License_Types/Adjuster/Public_Adjuster/

Source link

Hi, my name is Ankita Dixit. I started writing from young age and most of my writing skills and knowledge are self taught. Currently, I am working as a professional writer at Paisa.co. I have write on various topics including travel, motivation, finance, technology, credit cards, insurance and entrepreneurship etc.