USWNT to face rivals Sweden at Tokyo Olympics

USWNT to face rivals Sweden at Tokyo Olympics

The United States women’s national team have been drawn against old rivals Sweden as well as Australia and New Zealand in Group G for the Tokyo Olympic football tournament, it was announced on Wednesday.

Great Britain will face Canada and Chile as well as hosts Japan in Group E, while European champions Netherlands were drawn against Brazil, China and Zambia in Group F.

Stream FC Daily on ESPN+
– Foudy: USWNT show versatility against Sweden as Olympic prep continues

The USWNT are seeking to become the first women’s side to win a World Cup and an Olympic gold medal back-to-back.

There will be a new winner in the women’s tournament, with 2016 champions Germany failing to qualify.

Great Britain will be led by former Olympic gold medallist Hege Riise at the tournament.

“There is no doubt we have been drawn in a very exciting group. The host nation Japan are an extremely talented team and have been a strong force in women’s football for many years,” she said in a statement.

“Canada are another very good physical team, as we saw earlier this month when England and Wales both faced them at home in the April FIFA window. Chile are not a team I know quite as well, but they put in a very impressive performance against Cameroon to secure their place in this summer’s Games for the first time in their history.”

Riise will name her 18-player squad — which will feature players from England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland — at the end of May.

The men’s draw saw Rio 2016 Olympic men’s champions Brazil being drawn against Germany, Ivory Coast and Saudi Arabia in Group D.

Hosts Japan will face Mexico, South Africa and France in Group A while two-time Olympic champions Argentina will play Spain, Egypt and Australia in Group C.

Group B consists of New Zealand, South Korea, Honduras and Romania.

The football tournament at Tokyo will take place from July 21 to Aug. 6 in six cities across Japan.

Men’s Olympic draw

Group A

Japan, South Africa, Mexico, France

Group B

New Zealand, South Korea, Honduras, Romania

Group C

Egypt, Spain, Argentina, Australia

Group D

Brazil, Germany, Ivory Coast, Saudi Arabia

Women’s Olympic draw

Group E

Japan, Canada, Great Britain, Chile

Group F

China, Brazil, Zambia, Netherlands

Group G

Sweden, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Source link

By Ankita Dixit

Hi, my name is Ankita Dixit. I started writing from young age and most of my writing skills and knowledge are self taught. Currently, I am working as a professional writer at I have write on various topics including travel, motivation, finance, technology, credit cards, insurance and entrepreneurship etc.